New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Keep up to date with EG related information here.
User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5016
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by kgschlosser » Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:41 pm

is there anything you had to do to kodi to get it to work with eventghost? or is it just a plugin for eventghost?
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
Luca Brasi
Experienced User
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:39 pm

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by Luca Brasi » Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:21 pm

Win10 x64 Prof. / Eventghost latest / MCE Plugin / MCE RC6 Receiver / Logitech Harmony Hub / MediaPortal / kodi

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5016
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jul 08, 2017 1:13 am

@Luca Brasi

I am wondering if you might have an orphaned port.
have you rebooted your computer at all?

Give that a try and see what happens.

There are no changes that we have made that would cause an issue like this. Unless... You are running a different version of the XBMC plugin. I would check the version of the plugin.. and also verify the installation folder of your EG for me if you would.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

bskchaos
Experienced User
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:04 pm

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by bskchaos » Sat Jul 08, 2017 2:22 am

kgschlosser wrote:@bskchaos

I am not understanding what you are trying to do with those macros and the autorepeat
Volume control at 5% steps and simple OSD. The repeat rate is quite slow in 0.5 rc3.

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5016
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jul 08, 2017 5:02 am

@bskchaos

OK I found the issue.


replace the file eg\WinApi\SoundMixer.py with the attached file
Attachments
SoundMixer.py
(16.94 KiB) Downloaded 125 times
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
Luca Brasi
Experienced User
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:39 pm

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by Luca Brasi » Sat Jul 08, 2017 6:43 am

kgschlosser wrote:@Luca Brasi
I am wondering if you might have an orphaned port.
have you rebooted your computer at all?
This I did but...
kgschlosser wrote:You are running a different version of the XBMC plugin. I would check the version of the plugin...
You got me there! Looks like RC3 is coming with a pretty old version of XBMC plugin
screen_mmnote_2017-07-08 08 25 06.png
I installed the latest version which was running before with rc2 and everything is fine now
screen_mmnote_2017-07-08 08 37 58.png
screen_mmnote_2017-07-08 08 37 58.png (41.94 KiB) Viewed 3718 times
Should have figured that out myself. Not the first time this has happened :-)
Thanks mate
Win10 x64 Prof. / Eventghost latest / MCE Plugin / MCE RC6 Receiver / Logitech Harmony Hub / MediaPortal / kodi

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5016
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jul 08, 2017 6:48 am

we aren't updating to many of the plugins. because pretty soon there will be a plugin repository and no plugins will be distributed with EG except the 4 core plugins.

but I am glad we got it sorted. if it was working before rc3 then it should still be working. and if not then bring the issue to me first. because i do not want to bother a plugin developer for something that is not caused by the plugin. :-D
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
Luca Brasi
Experienced User
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:39 pm

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by Luca Brasi » Sat Jul 08, 2017 7:18 am

kgschlosser wrote:and if not then bring the issue to me first
You got it.

Let me say that your work here on eg and the way you handle things is amazing. Thank you very much for that. It's great to see that eventghost is alive again.
Couple month back it came to my mind that I will have to look for alternatives as dead as it looked back then. But now I feel happy to stick with it :-)
Win10 x64 Prof. / Eventghost latest / MCE Plugin / MCE RC6 Receiver / Logitech Harmony Hub / MediaPortal / kodi

someguy1
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 2:09 pm

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by someguy1 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 8:58 am

kgschlosser wrote:well I am going to assume that the hue are network attached devices. so any time you use the TCP stack to send something there is bound to be an increase. there is a whole lot of code it has to go through. the creation of the socket. passing through the firewall. things of that nature. But also when an event gets triggered it has to pass through 3 threads and because you are using the commandline it's actually 4 threads and 2 processes the event has to wiggle through. before it starts to process the macro so i am not a bit surprised the CPU moves at least a little.
Yea Philips Hue is network attached. Thanks a lot for the help.

bskchaos
Experienced User
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:04 pm

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by bskchaos » Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:38 pm

kgschlosser wrote:@bskchaos

OK I found the issue.


replace the file eg\WinApi\SoundMixer.py with the attached file
Smoooooth!!!

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5016
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:57 pm

@bskchaos

the modification i made is now faster then any of the previous releases of EG as well. so when you set it to .01 repeat on the volume. you will get it.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5016
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by kgschlosser » Wed Jul 12, 2017 2:56 pm

I wanted to personally apologize to anyone that is running EG rc3 and having to deal with some of the issues that came about from changing the way command line switches and parameters get passed to an already running instance of EventGhost. It ended up being more woven into the code then I had thought. and I want to let you all know that this is a needed thing. and it is going to set up the framework for future changes and additions. for things like Running EG as a service. and creating a web gui front end. and there is a learning curve here and we are trying to make it handle logins from different user/Administrators and be able to send information back and forth through that pipe without having any kinds of permission problems. I know it has been very frustrating and I want to thank you for the time you have spent letting us know of the problems. and I hope we are addressing them fast enough and fixing the problems in a timely manner. I am very sorry for the issues and TY to all the beta testers for all the work they are doing. And if you want to yell at me for it. that's fine.. send it to me in a PM.. I am pretty sure I can handle it :wink:
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
Luca Brasi
Experienced User
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:39 pm

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by Luca Brasi » Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:19 pm

there is absolutely no need for apologies. As I said before you are doing a great job here. and as a guy who takes advantage off your free contribution to the community the least I can do is helping with testing. I guess the majority around here is thinking the same. The rest I wouldn't care about...
Win10 x64 Prof. / Eventghost latest / MCE Plugin / MCE RC6 Receiver / Logitech Harmony Hub / MediaPortal / kodi

bskchaos
Experienced User
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:04 pm

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by bskchaos » Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:15 pm

Another bug.

Can't use the following code, it makes EG useless:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<EventGhost Version="0.5.0-rc3">
    <Macro Name="Run Application: Ptedit51.exe" XML_Guid="{2908617F-73C6-4B97-B7C0-1BF723D4CEE6}" Expanded="True">
        <Event Name="Main.Attached: [u'\\\\?\\USB#VID_04F9&PID_2041#K1G711347#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed}']" XML_Guid="{F0075C84-8116-4778-9480-EE1063D259A9}" />
        <Action XML_Guid="{85ECD6EB-EB1A-46B7-AD93-05C7CA6ECDE1}">
            System.Execute(u'C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Brother\\Ptedit51\\Ptedit51.exe', u'', 0, False, 2, u'', False, False, u'', False, False, False, False)
        </Action>
    </Macro>
</EventGhost>


I used this macros to trigger an event based on the device begin connected/disconnected.

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<EventGhost Version="0.5.0-rc3">
    <Folder Name="Device Events" XML_Guid="{DA7BC0E3-0A75-4E5D-8CBF-7DCB37B56325}" Expanded="True">
        <Macro Name="Connect" XML_Guid="{9BB8645B-0834-48D7-9104-9DCE0CB75C93}" Expanded="True">
            <Event Name="System.DeviceAttached" XML_Guid="{C66DA8E7-FA65-426D-A4C4-E1C95134C2E8}" />
            <Action XML_Guid="{C07FFDBC-7CA3-4EDE-8F25-518CD4A9E63A}">
                EventGhost.TriggerEvent(u'{"Attached: "}{eg.event.payload}', 0.0)
            </Action>
        </Macro>
        <Macro Name="Remove " XML_Guid="{1EA5F75F-31A9-4267-8691-ABE0469E1853}" Expanded="True">
            <Event Name="System.DeviceRemoved" XML_Guid="{F7635931-A4BA-4FF3-A771-B81503602979}" />
            <Action XML_Guid="{E97B9114-CBB4-4647-8468-7FF871412B2D}">
                EventGhost.TriggerEvent(u'{"Removed: "} {eg.event.payload}', 0.0)
            </Action>
        </Macro>
    </Folder>
</EventGhost>

User avatar
topix
Experienced User
Posts: 441
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:43 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: New version 0.5.0-rc3 is out

Post by topix » Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:04 pm

That's because of special characters in the event string (i guess). From looking at your script i guess you wanna start apps based on the inserted device. Instead of going the way with another event you could use a python script. Here is a sample for the attached event:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<EventGhost Version="WIP">
    <Action XML_Guid="{BFF15496-73B7-4235-BAB2-FC7177A53B58}">
        EventGhost.PythonScript(u"device = eg.event.payload[0]\n\nMy_USB_Stick = u'\\\\\\?\\\\USB#VID_0951&PID_1603#899801162008011514251DBD#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed}'\nMy_SDCARD = u'\\\\\\\\?\\\\USBSTOR#Disk&Ven_Generic&Prod_STORAGE_DEVICE&Rev_9451#000000009451&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}'\nPTouch = u'\\\\\\\\?\\\\USB#VID_04F9&amp;PID_2041#K1G711347#{a5dcbf10-6530-11d2-901f-00c04fb951ed}'\n\nif device == My_USB_Stick:\n    eg.plugins.System.Execute(u'notepad.exe', u'', 0, False, 2, u'', False, False, u'', False, False, False, False)\nelif device == PTouch:\n    eg.plugins.System.Execute(u'C:\\\\Program Files (x86)\\\\Brother\\\\Ptedit51\\\\Ptedit51.exe', u'', 0, False, 2, u'', False, False, u'', False, False, False, False)\nelse:\n    eg.plugins.EventGhost.TriggerEvent('unknown_device_attached')\n")
    </Action>
</EventGhost>

Post Reply