Nmap

Questions and comments specific to a particular plugin should go here.
HTPCanwender
Experienced User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Nmap

Post by HTPCanwender » Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:23 pm

Hi Pako,
my WLAN has a weak field in some rooms. So sometimes my Smartphone is reported as "Away" even if it is there. I am trying to reduce the problem by setting the security factor as high as possible and the scanning period as short as possible. I think, the scanning period should be chosen in steps of 5 sec.

An additional feature would be fine: I have 2 mobile devices. When I leave the house, I don't take everytime both devices with me. So I need an Event, when the number of devices in a group is incremented or decremented.

Yours

Arnd

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Nmap

Post by Pako » Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:13 pm

HTPCanwender wrote:my WLAN has a weak field in some rooms. So sometimes my Smartphone is reported as "Away" even if it is there. I am trying to reduce the problem by setting the security factor as high as possible and the scanning period as short as possible. I think, the scanning period should be chosen in steps of 5 sec.
I think one week is enough time for a first review.
Please - the possibility to shorten the period of scanning fulfill your expectations?
They are demonstrably better results than with the default setting of 30 s?
I would like to know. If the answer is yes, I will add that option in the dialog.
HTPCanwender wrote:An additional feature would be fine: I have 2 mobile devices. When I leave the house, I don't take everytime both devices with me. So I need an Event, when the number of devices in a group is incremented or decremented.
I think a proper solution I can find.

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

HTPCanwender
Experienced User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Nmap

Post by HTPCanwender » Sun Jun 15, 2014 5:21 pm

Hi Pako,
I got stable results with a scanning period of 10 sec and a security factor of 24. So a leaving device is detected in 4 minutes. In my Network it takes about 6 sec to scan all relevant network adresses. I think the time between the Nmap scans should be set in steps of 1 sec so that everyone can choose his optimal scanning period.

Yours

Arnd

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Nmap

Post by Pako » Sun Jun 15, 2014 6:32 pm

Well, you can try version 0.6. :
  • added option to choose the length of the scanning period
  • added an events Increased and Decreased (when the number of group members is changed)
Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

HTPCanwender
Experienced User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Nmap

Post by HTPCanwender » Sat Jun 21, 2014 11:59 am

Hi Pako,
the plugin creates many Events. It would be nice, if the event groups could be switched on and off like the Connected/Disconnected group. When I see it right you have created the following groups:

Away/Present
Decreased/Increased
Empty/Incomplete/Complete
DataUnavailable/DataAvailable
Connected/Disconnected

Yours Arnd

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Nmap

Post by Pako » Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:29 am

HTPCanwender wrote:It would be nice, if the event groups could be switched on and off like the Connected/Disconnected group.
I will add it to my ToDo list.
But I do not know when I'll do. I think there's no hurry.
You can use the Log only assigned and activated events checkbox.

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Nmap

Post by shaggy79 » Mon Jul 21, 2014 3:29 pm

Hi Pako,
I've installed Zenmap, but don't know how to use it.
Same with Nmap. Like I said I'm new to all this.
so could you give me a step by step guide(for dummies) lol
On what to do after installing both parts?
I have an iPhone 5s (don't know if that makes a difference?)
Cheers Paul.

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Nmap

Post by Pako » Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:18 am

It is really very easy. You are afraid of nothing.
So I'll try to help.
For proper operation you must install Zenmap. It is done.
Then you have to add Nmap plugin to EventGhost. This is also done.
Now open the configuration dialog:
Nmap-plugin.png
First, you would do well to read what is written on the Description tab.
Now we will discuss the setup procedure:
1.) Box Nmap install folder - check here (or fix) folder, in which Zenmap is installed
2.) Event prefix - you can leave it as it is
3.) Security Factor and Period ... - do not change it for now. Later, you can experiment with how changes will affect the reliability
4.) IP addres range - here set the range of IP addresses to be scanning (for example by setting DHCP server). More preferably, the range is small.
5.) Now press the Apply. This will start the regular scanning.
6.) The MAC addresses to be ignored - you can leave it as it is
7.) Trigger events ... - you can leave it as it is
8.) If the step 5.) was completed successfully, you can press the button Add new (under the section Named devices) and add there the device you want to monitor.
It may be that you do not find your phone there immediately. In this case, you can wake it up and try it for a few seconds again.
9) click OK to close the dialog and from the menu EventGhost select File and Save.

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Nmap

Post by shaggy79 » Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:39 am

Pako

I've done all that and it found the devices I want to monitor. :)
I need to check some more as it seems I'm getting "random" results, 'Present & Away'. :|
It might be my phone as with the other plugins I've tried, When my phone is 'locked' Nmap sees it as away.? :roll:

Has anybody else got his working with an iphone 5S or any plugin like it :?:

Cheers Paul.

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Nmap

Post by Pako » Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:19 am

Have you tried to change the Security factor and Scanning period ?
HTPCanwender wrote, that got good results when Security factor = 24 and Scanning period = 10.

Note:
I read that exist a utility called "Insomnia" that maintains a persistent wifi connection when the phone is locked.

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Nmap

Post by shaggy79 » Tue Jul 22, 2014 10:50 am

Pako,
I have just changed the settings to 24 & 10 I will give it some time and see what happens. :)


"Insomnia" is that an app for the phone :?: as my phone is not "jailbroken". :P

Paul.

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Nmap

Post by Pako » Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:24 am

shaggy79 wrote:"Insomnia" is that an app for the phone as my phone is not "jailbroken".
I do not get it - terminology around IPhone is for me totally unknown.

I quote from iphone-insomnia:
Insomnia is an iPhone native application that, when enabled, will prevent the iPhone from sleeping, thus overriding its default behaviour. This allows background applications to continue to run and WiFi to work long after the screen has been switched off.
Can you please explain why it is not possible to use it?
What is "jailbroken" ?

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Nmap

Post by shaggy79 » Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:47 pm

Pako

Jailbroken is a hacked iphone. So your not 'locked' to iTunes and the App Store.
But I don't want to go that route :-/
Paul

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Nmap

Post by Pako » Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:54 am

shaggy79 wrote:But I don't want to go that route :-/
I do understand.
Thus it appears that when the phone is locked, then wifi is actually disabled.
This means that you can not use Ping plugin, or Nmap plugin for your purpose.
I'm glad that I do not have iPhone. :D

Pako
You know flattr ? You can Image

shaggy79
Experienced User
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:57 pm

Re: Nmap

Post by shaggy79 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:50 am

Pako,

Is there anything that will work :?:
What about Bluetooth :?: Can EG tell if my phone is connected/disconnected :?:
I can't test it as yet, I'm waiting for my Bluetooth 4.0 dongle to arrive :roll:

Paul.

Post Reply