Page 14 of 17

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:09 pm
by kgschlosser
jonib wrote:
Mon Feb 25, 2019 5:31 pm
Unfortunately I did not find such an action, mind enlightening me?
hmmm You made me think I was going coo coo

I had to go and check. and yes it is there

"Set Device as Active Source"

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:51 pm
by jonib
kgschlosser wrote:
Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:09 pm
"Set Device as Active Source"
Ah that one, unfortunately does nothing for me.
There is a list of devices that I don't know what they are referring too, I tried all of them and no effect.
And the device seems to default to "TV" whatever I choose, so there might be a problem with it?

jonib
Devices.png

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:00 pm
by jachin99
I finally have a PC that sleeps correctly for the most part. Would it be possible to use CEC+ to only wake my PC when I press the sleep button on a remote or keyboard but make sure the PC does not wake for system events like when it wakes to record something or run a scheduled task?

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:42 pm
by kgschlosser
CEC + is for talking to your TV. It does have a concession built into it that will put your computer to sleep or power it off if you turn the TV off. It may wake it up from a sleep if you power the TV on as well (not 100% sure on that). you will have to keep the USP ports active and powered up during the sleep. so technically speaking you would not be be to have the computer drop into a true sleep.

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:49 pm
by kgschlosser
@jonib

I know it kind of stinks as far as the naming goes II am not the one that did that. and there is no way to get the actual input name that the device is plugged into. what kind of sucks is that only devices that support CEC you are going to be able to change the input to. CEC is a really crappy protocol. The basic idea is fantastic the execution is pitiful and it is extremely limited. Most CEC enabled devices will only use the remote button press portion of CEC and nothing else.

that code you are using is not a "source/input" select code. it is actually a one touch command code. If it is enabling you to change to a source on the TV and the device that is plugged into that source does not have CEC please let me know. I can do some testing to verify that this is in fact a source change instead of a CEC displayed device change.

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:32 am
by jonib
kgschlosser wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:49 pm
that code you are using is not a "source/input" select code. it is actually a one touch command code. If it is enabling you to change to a source on the TV and the device that is plugged into that source does not have CEC please let me know.
Not completely sure what this means.

HDMI2 is connected to to my old ATI graphics card via HDMI->DVI adapter so does not support HDMI-CEC, so if the "Set Device as Active Source" action needs a HDMI-CEC device to change to then it won't work, I guess.

As the raw action with "4f:82:20:00" works to change to HDMI2 I'm happy with that, did you fix the Unicode problem with the raw action?

jonib

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:27 pm
by kgschlosser
not yet. I will make the change along with adding a source select action if this works.

can you test something for me?

can you see if

4f:82:10:00 = HDMI1
4f:82:20:00 = HDMI2
4f:82:30:00 = HDMI3
4f:82:40:00 = HDMI4

it may require that something is plugged into the HDMI port in order to change to that port.

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:42 pm
by jonib
kgschlosser wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:27 pm
can you test something for me?

can you see if

4f:82:10:00 = HDMI1
4f:82:20:00 = HDMI2
4f:82:30:00 = HDMI3
4f:82:40:00 = HDMI4
They work perfectly, I don't even need anything plugged in to HDMI3 and HDMI4.

jonib

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 3:13 am
by kgschlosser
ok sweet so that is now our source select.. cool beans!!

I will add an action for that as well.

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:11 pm
by farbox
Hi all!

Im trying to do the same thing as above, ie get the pulse8 to switch to an input which is different to the HDMI its connected to. ie pulse8 connected to HDMI2, but I want it to command the TV to change to hdmi5 for example.
Its working perfectly fine to switch as active source.

I hope we'll get an action for that but meanwhile, how do I use the codes/scripts above?
Ive tried to paste them as python command, python string etc and I keep getting syntax errors. Maybe i am not understanding how to use them.
I tried to put the raw CEC into the "send command to an adapter" but I cant select my TV there....
Where in the plugin can I input raw CEC commands?

My thanks to kgschlosser for your work on this plugin! :D

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:01 am
by kgschlosser
OK I have updated the plugin on the first post.
I added the HDMI source selection
I fixed the Raw Command action


CEC has support for 15 HDMI ports. so all 15 are going to show up in the list as i have no way to know how many ports your TV has. so only the ports you have will work.

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:35 am
by jonib
kgschlosser wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:01 am
OK I have updated the plugin on the first post.
I added the HDMI source selection
I fixed the Raw Command action
Great, gonna test it right now.

The raw action gave me this error:

Code: Select all

   Error in Action: "Pulse-Eight CEC+: Send Raw Command 4f:82:20:00: Adapter: EventGhost on COM3"
   Traceback (most recent call last) (0.5.0-beta6):
     File "C:\Program Files (x86)\Utils\EventGhost\eg\Classes\ActionBase.py", line 116, in CallWrapper
       return self(*args)
     File "C:\ProgramData\EventGhost\plugins\PulseEightPlus\__init__.py", line 1407, in __call__
       command = ''.join(map(chr, list(command)))
   TypeError: an integer is required
CEC has support for 15 HDMI ports. so all 15 are going to show up in the list as i have no way to know how many ports your TV has. so only the ports you have will work.
Seems to work correctly, nice.

Is it possible to support other port types?

jonib

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:14 pm
by kgschlosser
OK I will screw about with the Raw Command some more see what I come up with.


And as far as getting any other sources that's not possible. CEC is an HDMI spec there for it is only going to pertain to anything HDMI related. I didn't even know that you could change the HDMI the CEC spec calls it a one touch command. which is supposed to play the device at that address an also activate it. As it turns out even if there is no CEC compliant device plugged in the one touch control will still activate the source input on the TV.

CEC has the capability of doing so much more. but the design was for you to be able to control say a blue-ray player by using the TV's remote control. or to power off the TV when you turn off you AVR things of that nature. so there really is no need to have made it so that a device other then the TV has the ability to control aspects of the TV which have nothing to do with anything HDMI. That is what serial control and P control are for. the nice thing about the CEC is that it overcomes issues on pre 2014 Samsung TV's where you do not have the ability to power them on. or on the 2016+ ones where you do not have the liability to directly set the source (HDMI or not). I know there are workarounds for the power issue with the Samsung TV's But when someone can go out and purchase a Raspberry PI which has CEC built right into it for 35.00 USD at a lot of local stores and you can run a python script on the thing as a daemon Now you have full blown IP control of the TV for 35.00 USD.

There are only 2 benefits to using CEC. one is the above statement. and the second is getting events for button presses on the TV's remote. and not a lot of TV's support the latter. There are enough people using CEC that have the adapter so it warranted a better plugin then what was made by the folks over at Pulse Eight.

I think it is awesome that you stumbled across the ability to change the HDMI sources. that is pretty cool. that make it nice for the folks that have non CEC devices plugged into other ports to be able to switch to them. TY for discovering that.

if there is any other commands that you happened to stumble upon that do not work in the manner in which is described please let me know!

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:50 am
by farbox
Can confirm that switching the TV to different HDMI inputs works great!

On my Sony TV I want to switch to the PC input (VGA), and it didnt work?
I tried HDMI 5, and all the way to 15 that were available on the plugin (only 4 physical HDMI inputs on the TV, but previously on some mobile phone IR transmitters, the PC input was listed as HDMI 5) but it didnt work...
IS there an HDMI 0 perhaps? Or is there a special CEC code for the PC input?

Re: Pulse-Eight CEC +

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:23 am
by kgschlosser
CEC is HDMI only.