Possible to have a more configurable logger?

Got a good idea? You can suggest new features here.
Post Reply
Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 865
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Possible to have a more configurable logger?

Post by Mastiff » Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:02 am

I use the logger a lot to keep track of what happens in my system. But there are a few things that I really don't need. Would it be possible to make it optional to show the names of the macros that run and the name of the actions that run inside a macro? An example:

Code: Select all

   Termostatstyring av rommene
Temperaturstyring av ovner
WC.: Temperatur: 23.0, termostatmodus: 1, termostattemperatur: 22, tidspunkt: Kl. 11:01, den 20.01.
The final line is the only one I would like to have there. That's a printout of all the info I need, while the two first lines are unnecessary.

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Possible to have a more configurable logger?

Post by Pako » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:08 am

Your example I do not understand much.
Can you please add a screenshot (and if it is possible, with more kinds of actions) ?

Pako

Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 865
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Re: Possible to have a more configurable logger?

Post by Mastiff » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:15 am

Those I would like to get rid of are marked in red. :wink: The names of macros and events that are being run.
Attachments
EG Logger.jpg

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Possible to have a more configurable logger?

Post by Pako » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:26 am

ViewMenu.png
ViewMenu.png (9.04 KiB) Viewed 5667 times
And View menu options do not satisfy you?
Pako

Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 865
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Re: Possible to have a more configurable logger?

Post by Mastiff » Tue Jan 20, 2015 11:29 am

Silly me... I was looking undre options! Thanks! :oops:

wawa79
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: Possible to have a more configurable logger?

Post by wawa79 » Mon May 25, 2015 2:55 pm

Hello,

I am looking for some way to reduce log verbosity. I am using EG for home automation and my log gets flooded with various events from sensors just because I have one macro that writes sensors value to a database.

One solution could be to temporarily disable the event. But if I do so, I would no longer get the values written into my database.

It would be nice that next release of EG allows enabling/disabling log of specific sets of events/macros/commands. I see 2 possibilities:
1) a system of log "layers" where we could assign events/macros/commands to named layers of log and then activate any of these layers to be actually displayed. New items would be assigned to Default layer that would correspond to current log
2) an option to enable/disable log of any folder (and the events/macros/commands it contain)

I hope 1) or 2) or both could be implemented in a near future

krambriw
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2570
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 2:51 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Possible to have a more configurable logger?

Post by krambriw » Mon May 25, 2015 3:11 pm

Check out this, it should be covering most since you can basically block all events from being logged (but still working as events). This is however configured differently to what you drafted

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2852&start=15#p34972

BernardZet
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 5:44 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Possible to have a more configurable logger

Post by BernardZet » Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:50 pm

I was wondering if it was possible to have the replay of a kill or the replay of a play?If its not ,is it something that could be done.....

Post Reply