[FIXED] Unable to standby when running EventGhost

Found a bug in EventGhost? Report it here.
Post Reply
cameronr
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:37 am

[FIXED] Unable to standby when running EventGhost

Post by cameronr » Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:21 pm

Hi all,

I am running EG 0.3.4 with an MCE remote on WinXP

When I attempt to put the computer into standby the "Preparing to Standby" dialog shows, but nothing else. This is either by pressing the case power button, choosing standby in the "start" menu, or running the Standby action in EG.

If I close EG first then either press the case power button, or choose Standby from the "start" menu everything is fine. I can then power the system up again with the MCE remote.

Any suggestions?

Cheers
Cameron

User avatar
Bitmonster
Site Admin
Posts: 2239
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:28 pm

Post by Bitmonster » Wed Jan 24, 2007 3:12 pm

Could you please try it again without any plug-ins loaded? It could be a bug of the MCE plug-in for example.

User avatar
Bitmonster
Site Admin
Posts: 2239
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:28 pm

Post by Bitmonster » Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:32 pm

Since there are no news on this topic, I set it to FIXED.
Please post software-related questions in the forum - PMs will only be answered, if really private, thanks!

cameronr
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:37 am

Post by cameronr » Sun Jun 03, 2007 11:45 am

Hello again, just getting back around to this...

It wasn't fixed, but I have since fixed it and am posting the required changes to the MceRemote plugin in MceRemote\__init__.py

EG version 0.3.6.986

Add the following to the end of __start__:

Code: Select all

def __start__(self, waitTime=0.15):

    ... other code ...

	#Bind to suspend notifications so we can go into suspend
	eg.Bind("System.Suspend", self.OnSuspend)
	eg.Bind("System.Resume", self.OnResume)
Add the following to the beginning of __stop__:

Code: Select all

def __stop__(self):
	#Unbind from power notification events
	eg.Unbind("System.Suspend", self.OnSuspend)
	eg.Unbind("System.Resume", self.OnResume)

    ... other code ...
And the following methods for shutdown & resume functions:

Code: Select all

def OnSuspend(self, event):
	if self.isEnabled:
		self.dll.MceIrSuspend()

def OnResume(self, event):
	if self.isEnabled:
		self.dll.MceIrResume()
And all is happy!

Cheers
Cameron

User avatar
Bitmonster
Site Admin
Posts: 2239
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:28 pm

Post by Bitmonster » Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:25 pm

Thank you for your contribution. It will be included in the next beta.
Please post software-related questions in the forum - PMs will only be answered, if really private, thanks!

loomy
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:07 pm

Re: [FIXED] Unable to standby when running EventGhost

Post by loomy » Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:10 pm

I get this problem with the latest EventGhost beta.

> When I attempt to put the computer into standby the "Preparing to Standby" dialog shows, but nothing else.

Using the power button or the start menu to S3 standby does work fine. (specifically, pressing the command will shut down or start up the computer instantly from S3)

But executing the Standby feature in EventGhost causes the EventGhost arrow to change color to yellow or red, and there is a pause for 5-10 seconds, and then the standby screen hangs like described.

User avatar
Bitmonster
Site Admin
Posts: 2239
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:28 pm

Re: [FIXED] Unable to standby when running EventGhost

Post by Bitmonster » Sun Sep 23, 2007 8:02 pm

What plugins do you use?
Please post software-related questions in the forum - PMs will only be answered, if really private, thanks!

User avatar
Bitmonster
Site Admin
Posts: 2239
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:28 pm

Re: [FIXED] Unable to standby when running EventGhost

Post by Bitmonster » Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:01 pm

Ah, I think I have found the bug. Try the latest beta.
Please post software-related questions in the forum - PMs will only be answered, if really private, thanks!

loomy
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:07 pm

Re: [FIXED] Unable to standby when running EventGhost

Post by loomy » Mon Sep 24, 2007 1:26 am

Bitmonster wrote:Ah, I think I have found the bug. Try the latest beta.
That is a crazy man!!! Bitmonster is a crazy man!!!

It is FIXED!!! Works like A CHARM! And such a quick reply! Someone give this guy A RAISE!!

Thank you!!! Great program!!!

Bartman
Plugin Developer
Posts: 881
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:03 am

Re: [FIXED] Unable to standby when running EventGhost

Post by Bartman » Tue Sep 25, 2007 5:38 pm

I had the same problem occasionally, but I did not think a user space program could cause the whole computer to freeze.
Did this only occur, when EG initiated the standby or was it enough when EG was running while entering standby?

Post Reply