Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixable?

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
Post Reply
Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixable?

Post by Mastiff » Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:33 am

When I start EventGhost, I get this:

Code: Select all

10:31:48   Error compiling script.
10:31:48   Traceback (most recent call last) (1669):
10:31:48     File "C:\Programfiler\EventGhost\eg\Classes\ActionItem.py", line 121, in SetArguments
10:31:48       self.compiled = self.executable.Compile(*args)
10:31:48     File "C:\Programfiler\EventGhost\plugins\EventGhost\PythonScript.py", line 71, in __init__
10:31:48       self.PrintTraceback()
10:31:48     File "C:\Programfiler\EventGhost\plugins\EventGhost\PythonScript.py", line 97, in PrintTraceback
10:31:48       treeItem.PrintError("Traceback (most recent call last):")
10:31:48   AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'PrintError'
I don't know enough about Python to fix it myself, does anybody here know what's wrong?

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by Pako » Sun Nov 02, 2014 3:00 pm

Mastiff wrote:does anybody here know what's wrong?
Error in PythonScript action.

Pako

Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by Mastiff » Sun Nov 02, 2014 3:16 pm

I that a built-in script in EG, or is it a user script? I don't think there's any user scripts firing that early, but I'm not sure.

User avatar
Sem;colon
Plugin Developer
Posts: 730
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:51 am
Location: Germany

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by Sem;colon » Sun Nov 02, 2014 3:25 pm

...looks like an user script to me
If you like my work, Image me a drink :wink:

Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by Mastiff » Sun Nov 02, 2014 4:08 pm

Weird. I disabled everything in the tree, and I still got it. Then I created a new, empty file and did not get it. So it is probably an error in my original file. I'll have to copy everything to that new file and see if that helps.

Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by Mastiff » Sun Nov 02, 2014 4:11 pm

Oh, god... I forgot that when copying stuff with Norwegian characters in EG they get messed up! So if I do that I have to spend a day canging "Ã¥" to "å" and so on... :cry:

Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by Mastiff » Sun Nov 02, 2014 4:20 pm

Found it! It was an old test Python script inside the test folder, and it was disabled. So is the test folder. So I have no idea why EG wanted to run/check this on open, but at least I managed to get rid of the error messages. Weird thing!

krambriw
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2570
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 2:51 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by krambriw » Sun Nov 02, 2014 6:47 pm

EG is checking the syntax even if you disable something in the tree. Also the syntax of plugins are checked at start up even if you don't add them to your configuration. Just to inform you that you have something out of order...

Mastiff
Experienced User
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 10:43 am

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by Mastiff » Sun Nov 02, 2014 8:02 pm

Aha, well, glad I found the problem. :D

kalia
Experienced User
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:10 am

Re: Getting a few lines of error messages at startup - fixab

Post by kalia » Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:43 am

Is there an easy way of finding out which Python Script has an error?

I have several scripts in the file and am having a hard time figuring out where the error is.

Thanks,

Kalia

Post Reply