IR automation on roku ultra

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
lalocortez

IR automation on roku ultra

Post by lalocortez » Thu Nov 21, 2019 7:01 pm

Hello:

I am new here, hope to learn fast.
I was wondering if I can automate an IR signal for my Roku ultra, what I need to do is to send an OK signal every 3 hours, some apps have a 4 hours inactivity timeout and I am looking for a solution to this.

Somebody told me to use girder but the page says they are out of business.

I need to know what hardware and how to implement it with Eventghost, I am willing to pay for somebody to teach me.

Best regards

Medy
Experienced User

Re: IR automation on roku ultra

Post by Medy » Fri Dec 06, 2019 2:44 pm

Im no expert at this. But what comes to mind is using a broadlink mini + ihc app + ifttt.

with the ihc app you can connect to ifttt.
And with ifttt you can set schedules for sending signals ...

the broadlink mini is relativly cheap around 20 bucks ...

I recon there might be some evenghost + ir sticks or smth that could do this as well ... but idk about that.

kgschlosser
Site Admin

Post by kgschlosser » Mon Dec 23, 2019 6:56 pm

easiest way to go about it is to pick up an MCE ir receiver that has blasting capabilities..

I prefer the one made by pinnacle but they are no longer made and might be hard to come by.. they are pretty inexpensive maybe 30.00 USD i believe. You might be able to locate one used on ebay.

I just went and checked you can get it..

https://www.amazon.com/d/Computer-Memor ... B000WR2E00

it's 25.00 USD shipped

here is the manual for it

http://static.highspeedbackbone.net/pdf ... nstall.pdf

It does include a single blaster eye but it has the ability to have a second one plugged in.

whatever receiver you decide to purchase make sure it specifically states Microsoft Windows Media Center Vista or newer.. or "eHome" on the packaging..