Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5508
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by kgschlosser » Sat Jul 20, 2019 5:50 am

are you using the latest build of Windows 10?
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by jachin99 » Mon Jul 22, 2019 2:01 pm

Yes, I'm on 1903. Thanks for the help

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5508
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by kgschlosser » Tue Jul 23, 2019 4:01 am

ok i modified the script again. There are 2 possible IID's for that interface. so now we are going to give the second one a shot.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by jachin99 » Tue Jul 23, 2019 3:13 pm

I get the same message. This isn't a big deal to me if it doesn't work out but I thought it looked like a useful feature.

Code: Select all

   Traceback (most recent call last):
     Python script "8", line 475, in <module>
       IID_IVirtualDesktopManagerInternal
   COMError: (-2147467262, 'No such interface supported', (None, None, None, 0, None))

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5508
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by kgschlosser » Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:28 am

maybe they removed that interface. It was an undocumented interface.

***EDIT***

I found another GUID.. I updated the script again so if you want to give it another try.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by jachin99 » Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:13 am

Gave the new code a try, and here is what I get

Code: Select all

   Traceback (most recent call last):
     Python script "3", line 486, in <module>
       pDesktopManagerInternal.GetDesktops(ctypes.byref(pObjectArray))
   TypeError: byref() argument must be a ctypes instance, not 'IObjectArray'
   

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5508
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by kgschlosser » Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:06 am

HAY!!!!
we got past the last issue!!!

woo hooo... I am going to update that script again and fix that error.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5508
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by kgschlosser » Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:11 am

ok give it a roll and see if it works.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

dan Edens
Experienced User
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by dan Edens » Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:18 am

Holy shit, this is going to change everything.

dan Edens
Experienced User
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by dan Edens » Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:26 am

kgschlosser wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:11 am
ok give it a roll and see if it works.
I get

Code: Select all

   Traceback (most recent call last):
     Python script "354", line 491, in <module>
       pDesktopManagerInternal.GetDesktops(ctypes.byref(pObjectArray))
   TypeError: call takes exactly 1 arguments (2 given)

dan Edens
Experienced User
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by dan Edens » Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:42 am

Yup don't mind me, Just going to leave this here.

[attachment=0]VirtualDesktops.zip[/attachment]
Attachments
VirtualDesktops.zip
(3.26 KiB) Downloaded 62 times

dan Edens
Experienced User
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by dan Edens » Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:53 am


dan Edens
Experienced User
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by dan Edens » Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:01 am

No idea how to set the guid for a plugin tbh^

User avatar
kgschlosser
Site Admin
Posts: 5508
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:43 am
Location: Rocky Mountains, Colorado USA

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by kgschlosser » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:27 pm

well it's not really a plugin yet. This is just a drop into a pyhon script and run at the moment. Once I get the initial connection bits working then a plugin can be developed.
dan Edens wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:01 am
No idea how to set the guid for a plugin tbh^
Not sure what you mean by that..

Code: Select all

eg.RegisterPlugin(
    name = "Virtual Desktops",
    author = "Kgschlosser",
    version = "0.0.004",
    guid = "{C2F03A33-21F5-47FA-B4BB-156362A2F239}",
    canMultiLoad = False,
    url = "http://eventghost.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&p=53389#p53389",
    description = "Creates events based on Virtual desktop interactions.",

)
You have it in the register plugin.

if you mean to get a new GUID.

GUID Generator is a good place.
If you like the work I have been doing then feel free to Image

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 646
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: Logging Windows operations? Moving application to virtual desktop?

Post by jachin99 » Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:28 am

I tried downloading the plug-in and adding it to EG. It wouldn't show up in the list of installed plugins so I tried changing the guide but it still isn't showing. I'm still getting a feel for windows 10 so maybe I'm doing something wrong

Post Reply