MCE Remote Win 10 update

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.
Sat32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 8:57 pm

MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by Sat32 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Please help,
Current config: Mce ir receiver using the eg mce remote plugin.
Harmony elite using the media center profile,

EG profile configured and was working great until the last win10 update.

Now when using the hdhomerun app EG is sending up,down,left,right keystrokes correctly

but hdhomerun app is receiving the numbers 8,2,4,6 like it's using numbers keys with number lock on

I've read and searched through the forums and have tried a few suggestions that seemed close to my issue
but nothing has fixed it,

Any suggestions Thanks

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by jachin99 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 12:37 am

I have a busy weekend but ill take a look on Monday. I also have a harmony with EG but no win 10 yet.

fuqit3
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:22 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by fuqit3 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:54 pm

I'm using the mciralternate service and the same situation happened. I can tell you the steps that solved my issue and you can try to see if it works.

The problem is windows reinstalled the keyboard mcir 109 keyboard device along with a couple others which I forget the name of. how I solved my issue was:
First make a system image
Next was to uninstall the alternate service through the plugin, (prob doesn't apply to you) then reboot and update windows
Next in advanced settings I disabled windows from updating or installing drivers automatically and then uninstalled all devices under keyboard in DM.
Disable the driver signing enforcement and then reinstalled the alternate service through eg plugin. In any case I'm sure it's the keyboard device in device manager causing the problem. There might be a reg key to do this, not sure I didn't need to go that far.

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by jachin99 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:31 pm

A couple quick questions. What remote do you have your harmony setup for? There are actually 2 different configurations for MCE remotes. The media center SE configuration has always worked better for me. Also, could there be a numlock on or something like that

Sat32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by Sat32 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:24 pm

The harmony profile I'm using is for Anyware media player but thats not the issue cause it's been working great until I did windows updates. I have two systems that use the same basic EG tree. One I have harmony elite for and the other a old harmony 1000. Both are showing this behavior

I have been doing diagnoses first I tried using a different driver for the ehome transiever that didn't fix it.

Then I thought I have a USB-UIRT floating around just remap buttons quick fix that didn't work either.
my eg tree has a simple Keyboard {up}, {down} to navigate the hdhomerun slice guide.

So I added a one of the special keys mce.blue to trigger the {up} keyboad action and hdhomerun got 8 instead of moving the slice up one.

So next I opened a text document to see if EG was really sending 8 instead keyboard {up} and it's not.

I'm at a loss I can navigate the slice guide fine with the arrows keys on my keyboard. But EG keyboard {up} translates into 8 for hdhomerun app
but before the windows update it worked fine

Thanks

Sat32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by Sat32 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:00 am

Update: I changed the keyboard up action to mouse wheel up and got basic slice navigation going again for the wife.

Temp fix I still need the keyboard navigation to really use the HDhomerun app

Thanks

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by jachin99 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:02 pm

One more idea, have you tried to use Page Up and Page Down? Silicon Dust has talked about refreshing their UI, and this could be part of that. Of course Windows updates break things quite a bit too.

Sat32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by Sat32 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:18 pm

Page up and down changes channels and would still need left/right to go ahead into the guide plus to navigate recorded shows

but thanks for the suggestion

Sat32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by Sat32 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:24 pm

Made a Video showing whats happening

https://youtu.be/IWfSHi8g0_0

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by jachin99 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:47 am

fuqit3 wrote:
Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:54 pm
I'm using the mciralternate service and the same situation happened. I can tell you the steps that solved my issue and you can try to see if it works.

The problem is windows reinstalled the keyboard mcir 109 keyboard device along with a couple others which I forget the name of. how I solved my issue was:
First make a system image
Next was to uninstall the alternate service through the plugin, (prob doesn't apply to you) then reboot and update windows
Next in advanced settings I disabled windows from updating or installing drivers automatically and then uninstalled all devices under keyboard in DM.
Disable the driver signing enforcement and then reinstalled the alternate service through eg plugin. In any case I'm sure it's the keyboard device in device manager causing the problem. There might be a reg key to do this, not sure I didn't need to go that far.
I bet I know why this fixed it. Installing the MCE Vista+ plugin along with the alternate service removes some registry keys that are responsible for windows seeing your keystrokes BUT EventGhost is still seeing them, as that plugin and service were designed behave this way. I be the same thing would work here however it seems like a roundabout way to fix the problem.

Sat 32 if your ok with this, I can share some reg keys that may do the job. Before you begin though, I would backup Windows & I would backup these reg keys in case you ever need them. My problem with this method is that it doesn't expose the cause of the problem. Maybe the UWP platform changed the way it handles IR input? That's just speculation though.

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by jachin99 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:56 am

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da]
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57db]
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004
These registry keys are removed during the installation of the service or plugin. If your not sure about what you are doing then please ask, and before you delete them, back them all up and put them somewhere safe. I had a look on their forums, and saw your post. EG isn't the cause for the time being but deleting these keys means you will need EG to control ANYTHING with your MCE remote most likely, as windows will no longer see your remote.

Sat32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by Sat32 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:56 am

jachin99 wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:56 am

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da]
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57db]
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004
These registry keys are removed during the installation of the service or plugin. If your not sure about what you are doing then please ask, and before you delete them, back them all up and put them somewhere safe. I had a look on their forums, and saw your post. EG isn't the cause for the time being but deleting these keys means you will need EG to control ANYTHING with your MCE remote most likely, as windows will no longer see your remote.
Thanks for the idea
I backed up the remote reg folder deleated those keys, then rebooted the system and did the same test I did on the video same result.
Then I went back in to the registry and deleated any "CodeSetNum#" I could find under remote and still no change.

Here is my original remote folder reg key

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da]
"RemoteName"="RC6 based MCE remote"
"EnableDebounce"=dword:00000001
"EnableVendorPassThrough"=dword:00000001
"DecoderID"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetID"=dword:00000000
"CodeBitLen"=dword:00000020
"CodeSetNumMask"=dword:00007000
"CodeSetNumShiftBits"=dword:0000000c
"CodeMatchMask"=dword:ffff0f00
"CodeMatchValue"=dword:800f0400
"DataMask"=dword:000000ff
"DataShiftBits"=dword:00000000
"ReportLength"=dword:00000003
"ReportDescriptor"=hex:05,0c,09,01,a1,01,85,01,19,00,2a,3c,02,15,00,26,3c,02,\
  95,01,75,10,81,00,c0,06,bc,ff,09,88,a1,01,85,02,19,01,29,ff,15,00,25,01,95,\
  01,75,08,81,00,c0,05,01,09,80,a1,01,85,03,19,01,29,ff,15,01,25,ff,95,01,75,\
  08,81,00,c0,05,01,09,06,a1,01,85,04,05,07,19,e0,29,e8,75,01,95,08,81,02,19,\
  00,29,90,26,ff,00,75,08,95,01,81,00,c0
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:01,00,00,00,04,00,1e,02,00,00,00,04,00,1f,03,00,00,00,\
  04,00,20,04,00,00,00,04,00,21,05,00,00,00,04,00,22,06,00,00,00,04,00,23,07,\
  00,00,00,04,00,24,08,00,00,00,04,00,25,09,00,00,00,04,00,26,00,00,00,00,04,\
  00,27,0b,00,00,00,04,00,28,0a,00,00,00,04,00,29,1d,00,00,00,04,02,25,1c,00,\
  00,00,04,02,20,1f,00,00,00,04,00,51,1e,00,00,00,04,00,52,21,00,00,00,04,00,\
  4f,20,00,00,00,04,00,50,22,00,00,00,04,00,28,4e,00,00,00,01,08,02,0f,00,00,\
  00,01,09,02,23,00,00,00,01,24,02,3b,00,00,00,01,04,02,16,00,00,00,01,b0,00,\
  18,00,00,00,01,b1,00,17,00,00,00,01,b2,00,14,00,00,00,01,b3,00,15,00,00,00,\
  01,b4,00,1a,00,00,00,01,b5,00,1b,00,00,00,01,b6,00,19,00,00,00,01,b7,00,6e,\
  00,00,00,01,cd,00,10,00,00,00,01,e9,00,11,00,00,00,01,ea,00,0e,00,00,00,01,\
  e2,00,26,00,00,00,01,8d,00,12,00,00,00,01,9c,00,13,00,00,00,01,9d,00,0c,00,\
  00,00,03,82,00,29,00,00,00,03,83,00,2a,00,00,00,03,82,00
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57db]
"RemoteName"="Samsung MCE remote"
"EnableDebounce"=dword:00000000
"DecoderID"=dword:00000004
"CodeSetID"=dword:00000000
"CodeBitLen"=dword:00000020
"CodeSetNumMask"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNumShiftBits"=dword:00000000
"CodeMatchMask"=dword:0000ffff
"CodeMatchValue"=dword:0000ad81
"DataMask"=dword:00ff0000
"DataShiftBits"=dword:00000010
"ReportLength"=dword:00000003
"ReportDescriptor"=hex:05,0c,09,01,a1,01,85,01,19,00,2a,3c,02,15,00,26,3c,02,\
  95,01,75,10,81,00,c0,06,bc,ff,09,88,a1,01,85,02,19,01,29,ff,15,00,25,01,95,\
  01,75,08,81,00,c0,05,01,09,80,a1,01,85,03,19,01,29,ff,15,01,25,ff,95,01,75,\
  08,81,00,c0,05,01,09,06,a1,01,85,04,05,07,19,e0,29,e8,75,01,95,08,81,02,19,\
  00,29,90,26,ff,00,75,08,95,01,81,00,c0
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:51,00,00,00,04,00,1e,52,00,00,00,04,00,1f,53,00,00,00,\
  04,00,20,54,00,00,00,04,00,21,55,00,00,00,04,00,22,56,00,00,00,04,00,23,57,\
  00,00,00,04,00,24,58,00,00,00,04,00,25,59,00,00,00,04,00,26,50,00,00,00,04,\
  00,27,61,00,00,00,04,00,28,60,00,00,00,04,00,29,62,00,00,00,04,02,25,63,00,\
  00,00,04,02,20,42,00,00,00,04,00,51,41,00,00,00,04,00,52,44,00,00,00,04,00,\
  4f,43,00,00,00,04,00,50,40,00,00,00,04,00,28,00,00,00,00,03,82,00,37,00,00,\
  00,01,09,02,45,00,00,00,01,24,02,13,00,00,00,01,b0,00,16,00,00,00,01,b1,00,\
  10,00,00,00,01,b2,00,14,00,00,00,01,b3,00,12,00,00,00,01,b4,00,17,00,00,00,\
  01,b5,00,15,00,00,00,01,b6,00,11,00,00,00,01,b7,00,21,00,00,00,01,e9,00,22,\
  00,00,00,01,ea,00,23,00,00,00,01,e2,00,35,00,00,00,01,8d,00,24,00,00,00,01,\
  9c,00,25,00,00,00,01,9d,00,30,00,00,00,02,0d,00,31,00,00,00,02,4a,00,34,00,\
  00,00,02,49,00,36,00,00,00,02,25,00,33,00,00,00,02,46,00,32,00,00,00,02,47,\
  00,38,00,00,00,02,24,00,39,00,00,00,02,48,00,81,00,00,00,02,80,00,82,00,00,\
  00,02,81,00,83,00,00,00,02,82,00,84,00,00,00,02,80,00,86,00,00,00,02,81,00
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57dc]
"RemoteName"="MCIR Standard Keyboard Remote"
"EnableDebounce"=dword:00000000
"EnablePassThrough"=dword:00000005
"DecoderID"=dword:00000006
"CodeSetID"=dword:00000000
"CodeBitLen"=dword:00000020
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNumMask"=dword:e0000000
"CodeSetNumShiftBits"=dword:0000001d
"CodeMatchMask"=dword:00000000
"CodeMatchValue"=dword:00000000
"DataMask"=dword:00ffffff
"DataShiftBits"=dword:00000000
"CheckSumResultsMasks"=hex:00,00,00,1f,00,00,00,00
"CheckSumResultsShiftBits"=hex:18
"CheckSumOperation"=dword:00000001
"CheckSumWordsMasks"=hex:ff,ff,ff,e0,00,00,00,00
"CheckSumWordsShiftBits"=hex:00
"ReportLength"=dword:00000004
"ReportDescriptor"=hex:05,01,09,06,a1,01,85,05,05,07,19,e0,29,e7,15,00,25,01,\
  75,01,95,08,81,02,19,00,29,91,15,00,26,ff,00,75,08,95,02,81,00,c0
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:00,00,00,00,05,00,00,00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57dd]
"RemoteName"="MCIR Japanese Keyboard Remote"
"EnableDebounce"=dword:00000000
"EnablePassThrough"=dword:00000006
"ForceUniqueReport"=dword:00000001
"DecoderID"=dword:00000007
"CodeSetID"=dword:00000000
"CodeBitLen"=dword:00000020
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNumMask"=dword:e0000000
"CodeSetNumShiftBits"=dword:0000001d
"CodeMatchMask"=dword:00000000
"CodeMatchValue"=dword:00000000
"DataMask"=dword:00ffffff
"DataShiftBits"=dword:00000000
"CheckSumResultsMasks"=hex:00,00,00,1f,00,00,00,00
"CheckSumResultsShiftBits"=hex:18
"CheckSumOperation"=dword:00000001
"CheckSumWordsMasks"=hex:ff,ff,ff,e0,00,00,00,00
"CheckSumWordsShiftBits"=hex:00
"ReportLength"=dword:00000004
"ReportDescriptor"=hex:05,01,09,06,a1,01,85,06,05,07,19,e0,29,e7,15,00,25,01,\
  75,01,95,08,81,02,19,00,29,98,15,00,26,ff,00,75,08,95,02,81,00,c0
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:00,00,00,00,06,00,00,00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57de]
"RemoteName"="MCIR Three Button Mouse Remote"
"EnableDebounce"=dword:00000000
"EnablePassThrough"=dword:00000007
"DecoderID"=dword:00000008
"CodeSetID"=dword:00000000
"CodeBitLen"=dword:0000001d
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000000
"CodeSetNumMask"=dword:1c000000
"CodeSetNumShiftBits"=dword:0000001a
"CodeMatchMask"=dword:00000000
"CodeMatchValue"=dword:00000000
"DataMask"=dword:001fffe0
"DataShiftBits"=dword:00000005
"CheckSumResultsMasks"=hex:00,00,e0,03,00,00,00,00,1f,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
"CheckSumResultsShiftBits"=hex:15,00
"CheckSumOperation"=dword:00000002
"CheckSumWordsMasks"=hex:e0,ff,1f,1c,00,00,00,00
"CheckSumWordsShiftBits"=hex:00
"ReportLength"=dword:00000003
"ReportDescriptor"=hex:05,01,09,01,a1,01,85,07,05,09,19,01,29,02,15,00,25,01,\
  75,01,95,02,81,02,05,01,09,30,09,31,15,c1,25,3f,75,07,95,02,81,06,c0
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:00,00,00,00,07,00,00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\HidIr\Remotes\b1c84016-5174-4894-8e49-b3e8dbe06bbb]
"RemoteName"="QuatroPulse MCE remote"
"EnableDebounce"=dword:00000000
"EnableVendorPassThrough"=dword:00000001
"DecoderID"=dword:00000009
"CodeSetID"=dword:00000000
"CodeBitLen"=dword:0000002e
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004
"CodeSetNumMask"=hex:3c,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
"CodeSetNumShiftBits"=dword:00000002
"CodeMatchMask"=hex:c3,ff,ff,03,00,00,00,00
"CodeMatchValue"=hex:42,88,04,00,00,00,00,00
"DataMask"=hex:00,00,00,fc,ff,03,00,00
"DataShiftBits"=dword:0000001a
"DataSwapBytes"=dword:00000001
"ChecksumOperation"=dword:00000003
"CheckSumWordsMasks"=hex:3c,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,c0,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,3c,\
  00,00,00,00,00,00,00,c0,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,3c,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,c0,\
  03,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,3c,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,c0,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
  3c,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,c0,03,00,00
"CheckSumWordsShiftBits"=hex:02,06,0a,0e,12,16,1a,1e,22,26
"CheckSumResultsMasks"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,3c,00,00
"CheckSumResultsShiftBits"=hex:2a
"ReportLength"=dword:00000003
"ReportDescriptor"=hex:05,0c,09,01,a1,01,85,01,19,00,2a,3c,02,15,00,26,3c,02,\
  95,01,75,10,81,00,c0,06,bc,ff,09,88,a1,01,85,02,19,01,29,ff,15,00,25,01,95,\
  01,75,08,81,00,c0,05,01,09,80,a1,01,85,03,19,00,29,ff,15,00,25,ff,95,01,75,\
  08,81,00,c0,05,01,09,06,a1,01,85,04,05,07,19,e0,29,e8,75,01,95,08,81,02,19,\
  00,29,90,26,ff,00,75,08,95,01,81,00,c0
"ReportMappingTable"=hex:01,00,00,00,04,00,1e,02,00,00,00,04,00,1f,03,00,00,00,\
  04,00,20,04,00,00,00,04,00,21,05,00,00,00,04,00,22,06,00,00,00,04,00,23,07,\
  00,00,00,04,00,24,08,00,00,00,04,00,25,09,00,00,00,04,00,26,00,00,00,00,04,\
  00,27,0b,00,00,00,04,00,28,0a,00,00,00,04,00,29,1d,00,00,00,04,02,25,1c,00,\
  00,00,04,02,20,1f,00,00,00,04,00,51,1e,00,00,00,04,00,52,21,00,00,00,04,00,\
  4f,20,00,00,00,04,00,50,22,00,00,00,04,00,28,4e,00,00,00,01,08,02,0f,00,00,\
  00,01,09,02,23,00,00,00,01,24,02,3b,00,00,00,01,04,02,16,00,00,00,01,b0,00,\
  18,00,00,00,01,b1,00,17,00,00,00,01,b2,00,14,00,00,00,01,b3,00,15,00,00,00,\
  01,b4,00,1a,00,00,00,01,b5,00,1b,00,00,00,01,b6,00,19,00,00,00,01,b7,00,6e,\
  00,00,00,01,cd,00,10,00,00,00,01,e9,00,11,00,00,00,01,ea,00,0e,00,00,00,01,\
  e2,00,26,00,00,00,01,8d,00,12,00,00,00,01,9c,00,13,00,00,00,01,9d,00,0c,00,\
  00,00,03,82,00,29,00,00,00,03,83,00,2a,00,00,00,03,82,00,ff,00,00,00,00,00,\
  00

Thanks for the help

jachin99
Experienced User
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:39 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by jachin99 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:33 pm

I overlooked an important detail here. You don't have your gear setup to send MCE codes, and have it setup to send those anyware codes instead, correct? Perhaps Anyware uses XP codes, which are emulated keystrokes. If these codes were taken out of Win 10 then that could be the culprit. Any program that uses these old codes will break, and maybe USBUIRT did the same thing?

Lets try setting your remote up for a newer MCE profile, and go from there if you don't mind. There are actually a couple different MCE profiles harmony offers, and some of them are really poor.

If you don't mind, add this device to your setup, and try it with EventGhost NOT RUNNING. If that doesn't work, try it without the registry changes and then with the changes. This profile works really well for me, and gives your harmony a full PC profile with a full keyboard, keyboard combinations, mouse control, and MCE shortcuts. Lets try this, and see what happens. I'll read through your post and watch your video again too to make sure I understand exactly where the problem is too.

Code: Select all

Device type: Computer -> Media Center PC
Manufacturer: Microsoft
Model: Windows Media Center SE

If you have some other remote code programmed in your harmony then it makes perfect sense why it didn't work.

Sat32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by Sat32 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:06 pm

jachin99 wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:33 pm
I overlooked an important detail here. You don't have your gear setup to send MCE codes, and have it setup to send those anyware codes instead, correct? Perhaps Anyware uses XP codes, which are emulated keystrokes. If these codes were taken out of Win 10 then that could be the culprit. Any program that uses these old codes will break, and maybe USBUIRT did the same thing?
That Video I made if you watched it was made on a third computer I have a with no mce transiever or usb-uirt. I just basically just mapped the "D" keyboard key to sendkey {UP} action.

So the harmony profile has nothing to do with this.
Thanks

Sat32
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: MCE Remote Win 10 update

Post by Sat32 » Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:27 pm

Sat32 wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:56 am
jachin99 wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:56 am

Code: Select all

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57da]
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\HidIr\Remotes\745a17a0-74d3-11d0-b6fe-00a0c90f57db]
"CodeSetNum0"=dword:00000001
"CodeSetNum1"=dword:00000002
"CodeSetNum2"=dword:00000003
"CodeSetNum3"=dword:00000004
jachin99 could you possibly post or PM me a copy of your
"[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\HidIr\Remotes" folder
I'd liked to go thru it to see what differences they are

Thanks

Post Reply