How to set autohide of taskbar?

Do you have questions about writing plugins or scripts in Python? Meet the coders here.
Post Reply
molitar
Experienced User
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:44 am

How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by molitar » Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:21 am

Ok I been working with a Media Player Classic script with a maximize but when I maximize I wish to set the taskbar to auto-hide so the screen will truely be maximized. How can I do in EG?

Bartman
Plugin Developer
Posts: 881
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:03 am

Re: How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by Bartman » Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:29 am

you should put the player in fullscreen mode not maximize the window.

molitar
Experienced User
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:44 am

Re: How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by molitar » Fri Jan 29, 2010 4:41 am

Bartman wrote:you should put the player in fullscreen mode not maximize the window.
Well when I do fullscreen it goes to my HDTV.. I don't always want that.. so this method I can determine fullscreen on monitor or fullscreen on HDTV.. because using minimal view with maximization is the same as fullscreen.

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by Pako » Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:40 am

For the hide and unhide of the taskbar you can use the following scripts:

Code: Select all

#Script Hide Taskbar
from win32gui import SetWindowPos
from ctypes import windll
TOGGLE_HIDEWINDOW = 0x80
handleTaskBar = windll.user32.FindWindowA("Shell_TrayWnd", "")
SetWindowPos(handleTaskBar, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, TOGGLE_HIDEWINDOW)

Code: Select all

#Script Unhide Taskbar
from win32gui import SetWindowPos
from ctypes import windll
TOGGLE_UNHIDEWINDOW = 0x40
handleTaskBar = windll.user32.FindWindowA("Shell_TrayWnd", "")
SetWindowPos(handleTaskBar, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, TOGGLE_UNHIDEWINDOW)
Pako

molitar
Experienced User
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:44 am

Re: How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by molitar » Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:59 am

Thanks again Pako for the help!

molitar
Experienced User
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:44 am

Re: How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by molitar » Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:17 am

Pako, this worked great but ran into one little snag.. one of the custom trays I am running won't auto hide and does not have a handle so I can hide it. But I did find if I set the Taskbar to auto-hide the hooked software will hide also so how can I toggle the Auto-Hide of the taskbar?

User avatar
Livin
Experienced User
Posts: 792
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:56 am

Re: How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by Livin » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:57 pm

Pako,
this would be a good Action for EG. Maybe you could ask Bitmonster to add it to the next released build?
setup... XBMC, W7MC for DVR & Live OTA TV, JRMC for multi-zone audio, EG, MiCasaVerde Vera3, USB-UIRT IR receiver, Harmony remote, 5.2 home theater system

User avatar
Pako
Plugin Developer
Posts: 2294
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by Pako » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:30 pm

@molitar:
Well.
I made a small plugin with which you can control the taskbar.
I discovered, that in Windows 7 is no longer possible for the taskbar disable feature "Allways On Top".
Thus, even in my plugin are these options only available in earlier versions of Windows.

@Livin:
No comment.

Pako
Attachments
__init__.py
Plugin Taskbar - version 1.0.0
(8.23 KiB) Downloaded 288 times

molitar
Experienced User
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:44 am

Re: How to set autohide of taskbar?

Post by molitar » Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:00 am

Pako wrote:@molitar:
Well.
I made a small plugin with which you can control the taskbar.
I discovered, that in Windows 7 is no longer possible for the taskbar disable feature "Allways On Top".
Thus, even in my plugin are these options only available in earlier versions of Windows.

@Livin:
No comment.

Pako
Excellent thanks.. yeah Microsoft just keeps making windows have less and less customizations.. IE lost it's customization, taskbar lost it's, classic start menu gone unless you use classic shell 3rd party software to get it back. Thanks for the plugin.

Post Reply