Running from Source

Do you have questions about writing plugins or scripts in Python? Meet the coders here.
jsonnabend
Experienced User

Running from Source

Post by jsonnabend » Fri May 01, 2009 2:56 pm

I'm new to Python and I want to dive into the source a bit. I'm using Eric IDE. Can someone point me in the right direction for running from source? For example, what module/project do I load first?

- Jeff

jsonnabend
Experienced User

Re: Running from Source

Post by jsonnabend » Mon May 04, 2009 1:47 pm

BUMP

Anyone? Someone must be running from source, no?

Bartman
Plugin Developer

Post by Bartman » Mon May 04, 2009 6:55 pm

Basicly it is always running from source. If the eventghost.exe detects a changed py file it compile it and runs from there.

jsonnabend
Experienced User

Post by jsonnabend » Mon May 04, 2009 7:53 pm

Ah, ok, but I'd like to run from within an IDE for debug purposes. That's the issue.

- Jeff

jsonnabend
Experienced User

Post by jsonnabend » Thu May 07, 2009 11:57 am

Wow, is it really possible that no one is running EG from within a Python development environment?

- Jeff

stottle
Plugin Developer

Post by stottle » Sun May 10, 2009 5:05 am

I believe EventGhost.pyw is the main entry point for EventGhost. It looks like that is what the installer's exe file points to when it starts.

jsonnabend
Experienced User

Post by jsonnabend » Tue May 19, 2009 1:36 pm

I see no "EventGhost.pyw" anywhere.

- Jeff

stottle
Plugin Developer

Post by stottle » Tue May 19, 2009 4:04 pm

EventGhost uses py2exe to build an executable from the python source, then builds an installer from that. The installer doesn't install all of the files, just the ones needed to run. If you download the source code from the SVN, you will find the file I mentioned.

Brett

jsonnabend
Experienced User

Post by jsonnabend » Tue May 19, 2009 4:08 pm

Ah, ok, that explains a lot.

How do I get read-only SVN access?

- Jeff

stottle
Plugin Developer