Plugin Development

Do you have questions about writing plugins or scripts in Python? Meet the coders here.
cameronr

Plugin Development

Post by cameronr » Sat Aug 12, 2006 9:21 am

Hi all,

I have recently changed to EventGhost from Girder and I must say that, for my purposes, EventGhost is far superior and far easier to use than Girder.

I have plans to develop a few plugins for EventGhost. I have not done any python before but have no doubts it will be easy to pickup as I am a Software Engineer by day :)

The plugins I plan to build are:

1) Generic parallel port plugin. I have a parallel port 8 in, 8 out controller box that I want to control.
2) Windows power down notification plugin that receives Standby/Hibernate notifications and forwards them to EventGhost (is this done already?). I want to use this to control power to my amplifiers and automatic projector masking through the parallel port break-out box.
3) M-Audio Revolution sound card controller plugin.

Now, I have a few questions about the python development environment: 4) Is there an IDE available to make my life a little easier (for windows)? I don't mind using gvim but I prefer an IDE.
5) I saw the wiki entry that describes the packages that I need to run EventGhost from source - is there anything else I need?
6) Once I have developed my plugin(s) what is the best way to give them back to the community?
7) Is there a cvs system set up through sourceforge or am I better working with the 0.3.2 source code package and sending someone the plugins that are developed?

That's about it for now. I am sure I will have more questions soon. Thanks for your great program!

Cheers
Cameron

cameronr

Post by cameronr » Sat Aug 12, 2006 9:58 am

8) I just realised I probably don't need to compile EG from source as the plugins are interpreted at runtime.